Dimsum masthead
Beijing Olympics tickets
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Dimsum Forum Index -> Viewpoints
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:29 am    Post subject: Beijing Olympics tickets Reply with quote

I think there is a fake ticketing site operating as
http://www.beijingticketing.com/help.aspx

Probably many more fake sites are operating.

What do you think? Which organisations should be contacted about it?

BBC news states "The first two batches of tickets were available only to Chinese residents. People living outside China will get their first chance to buy tickets in April 2008."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7079671.stm

Edwina xx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ex-VAG



Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 445

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

US owned with a London ph0ne number?? You decide.
ph0ne: +44 (0) 207 593 2096
US Registered
Office : 1440 Broadway,
23rd Floor,
New York,
NY 10018,
United States

Dont' think they sell fakes but they are definately actigna s agents, and as we know agents are the scum of the earth making money for not doing anything.

Wasn't it recently reported that the Chinese ticket server had crashe due to the volume of people trying to get tickets when it first launched?
The first phase was by lottery and the officials are thinking of doing the same for the second phase due to what happened with technology, and these so far have been aimed at locals as the news report says.
Not sure when they go on world wide sale.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ex-VAG,

You are missing the vital points:-

[1] The site claims tickets are available NOW.
NOT TRUE; NOT UNTIL APR 2008 as the BBC news article says;

[2] The site is definitely NOT an official Olympics site;

This is the list of official ticketing agents;
http://media.tickets.beijing2008.cn/en-cn/img/static/docs/GSANOC2008.p df


Quote:"Fans are reminded that only tickets purchased from or obtained through official/authorised sources will enable entry to venues. Detailed information on official/authorised ticket sources, in particular a list of authorised ticket resellers (in China and internationally) is available on"
ref: http://www.olympic.org/uk/games/beijing/full_story_uk.asp?id=2156
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyway, last night, I have reported to the local police station who will report it to their Hi-tech crime unit.

I was instructed to report it to Trading Standards to shut down the site Evil or Very Mad Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ex-VAG



Joined: 13 Dec 2006
Posts: 445

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh I see, didn't look into it in that much detail Embarassed

Doubt the pigs or trading standards will or can do anything about them, especially if they're hosted outside of the UK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ex-VAG wrote:
Oh I see, didn't look into it in that much detail Embarassed

Doubt the pigs or trading standards will or can do anything about them, especially if they're hosted outside of the UK


Their contact telephone number is +44 207 . . . a London number. So if it is an e-crime, it is in UK's jurisdiction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OFT 08454 04 05 06 SE 43 54 78
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Jeff Minter



Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edwina Lee wrote:
Anyway, last night, I have reported to the local police station who will report it to their Hi-tech crime unit.

I was instructed to report it to Trading Standards to shut down the site Evil or Very Mad Crying or Very sad


They'll see to it in 2009, most likely. Too busy strip-searching black professionals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chunxueping



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 707
Location: Beijing, PRC

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As long as they leaving us alone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
mnadeem90



Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:59 pm    Post subject: BeijingTicketing.com Reply with quote

i buy two opening ceremony tickets from http://www.beijingticketing.com i am sure
its a secure and reliable ticket agent.
_________________
http://www.beijingticketing.com is a secure site for olympic 2008 tickets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject: Re: BeijingTicketing.com Reply with quote

mnadeem90 wrote:
i buy two opening ceremony tickets from http://www.beijingticketing.com i am sure
its a secure and reliable ticket agent.


Beware ! There are many internet scams around.

www.beijingticketing.com is not listed as an official ticketing agent of any country.

You might not be able to get in with their tickets when you get to the Olympics!

This is the official ticketing agent if you are buying in the UK:-

www.sportsworld.co.uk/beijing2008

This agent is listed in
[1] Beijing's Olympics site's document of official ticketing agents:-
http://media.tickets.beijing2008.cn/en-cn/img/static/docs/GSANOC2008.p df
[2] British Olympics Association's site
http://beijing2008.sportsworld.co.uk/public/index.aspx


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your heart is still fluttering whether to buy from an unofficial site, have a look at this "about us" description in the unofficial site:-

http://www.beijingticketing.com/about_us.aspx

The complete absence of specific date and specific reference should ring alarm bells in your brain.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Edwina Lee



Joined: 06 Oct 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: High Wycombe, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops! The British Olympics Association's site is

http://www.olympics.org.uk

The Sports World icon on the bottom right of the page points to the official ticketing agent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
mnadeem90



Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:23 pm    Post subject: Olympic Tickets Reply with quote

I know only http://www.beijingticketing.com is secure olympic ticket site.. i bought two tickets and they will send me these two tickets in July. i bought many time tickets form same company its reliable company..

Rgds,
_________________
http://www.beijingticketing.com is a secure site for olympic 2008 tickets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
chunxueping



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 707
Location: Beijing, PRC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it isnt. They dont run the secure transport protocol and half the links dont work and the email addresses are different to the hyperlinks.

The logos for secure sites and secure ticketing are bogus and dont work and there are an awful lot of typos on the site, even I can see them and Im mainlander.

I hope you get your tickets OK. I have got mine for the opening ceremony but through a friend in Beijing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Dimsum Forum Index -> Viewpoints All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum